Internationalization

Hi,

I’m new with Strapi and I would like to know what’s the best way to implement internationalization.
Is it possible to get something like this in the response :

“title”: {
“en”: “title in english”,
“fr”: “title in french”
}

Thank you !

1 Like

Hey @schartrand welcome :wave:,

Content internationalization is a feature the core team is currently working on. Checkout the productboard card (currently in In Progress (design)).

As suggested in the past (#5166 comment) a way to achieve this could be to have:

one field title_fr and another title_en to manage your different values.

This will result in a different response, but you could create a custom controller that merges those different fields to one field with different language keys, to achieve your example.

Also checkout this issue for the feature request: #1507

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Any update? Almost 2 years waiting for this feature :smiley:

1 Like

Hi @CKGrafico :wave:,

I do believe the ETA is the end of Q1, so it should be released this month.
(Pinging @DMehaffy to officially confirm this.)

1 Like

Are we sure this feature will be deployed in March?
How could we manage this without this feature?

No @vokvince, I’m not :wink:, that’s why I mentioned @DMehaffy (a Strapi employee) to officially confirm it. I do believe it will be very soon, there is a lot of activity on/into the features/i18n branch on the main repo.

You could manage it in the way I mentioned above, by using a field per language, something like title_fr and title_en. This however still needs a lot of custom logic and ‘merging’ in the controllers. This is probably not going to be compatible with the new plugin/feature, so totally not worth spending time on so close before the new feature release.

1 Like

Yes we are still on schedule to release the I18N feature by the end of March (Q1) and most likely there will be a public beta within the next two weeks (exact date is not confirmed).

3 Likes