Unsolved problem: emails goes to spam!

I know that Strapi recommends to install custom email provider not to use the default one, but why? Can’t we have properly working email provider right out of the box? I’m not an email expert, but as I see the node-sendmail module has the major advantage of sending mail without SMTP server. For most of the cases this is all we need!

see node-sendmail @github

I tested the email configuration in the administration panel and everything works correctly. The only part missing is the domain check. And possibly a test button.

In #3804 this guy found the solution, I think this should be the default config, with a fallback to false in case the key is not found. As a bonus would be nice if we had a way to upload/update the key in administration panel.

I think a properly working email right out of the box is important, because this way we reduce unnecessary concerns on migrations or clean install.

@SorinGFS

The default email system doesn’t require any existing email infrastructure and is useful for testing as the email is sent from the server Strapi is running on. In a production like configuration you should/would have an actual email implementation along with all of the required DNS records (MX, DKIM, ect). Strapi itself cannot predict these settings in advanced and requires the user to configure them.

Strapi itself is not in the “email business” so to speak, hence why we have a handful of providers, actual implementation should be up to the user and we should only provide a viable test option (that being said most consumer ISPs block outbound port 25, hence why we have added an option in the CLI to reset passwords).

If you are willing to work on a better solution we would be open to seeing what you think, but please do open an RFC: GitHub - strapi/rfcs: RFCs for Strapi future changes before you open a pull request.