Admin/init not found on live server

Hello there. I am very new to strapi but not to gridsome.
I have followed the tutorial as such GitHub - strapi/strapi-starter-gridsome-portfolio: Build portfolio sites using Strapi and Gridsome

On localhost everything works fine.

I have build the strapi backend and uploaded it to my /admin folder on my server
When I enter https://www.exalted.one/admin/ I see a spinning wheel and a console error of
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 () (init, line 0)
admin/init

Again on localhost the admin works perfectly.
The gridsome build upload works fine.

I tried my very best to understand similar topics on google or GitHub but I by the best of my efforts I have no idea what to do to resolve this.

Thank you for your time and expertise

You can’t build the backend. Only the Frontend.

You just uploaded the files from build to /admin folder on your server? Without the backend?

From what I see your backend is not running at all.
How do you start it? How do you proxy requests from your domain to strapi?

Oh okay — I did indeed uploaded the files from build directory to my admin folder.

I have to remain silent in my answers to: How do you start it? How do you proxy requests from your domain to strapi?

This is new for me so I have absolutely no idea :wink: As mentioned I followed the starter tutorial and feel it is missing crucial informations for newbies like me. I am used to gridsome and cmd’s like forestry. I must be missing a crucial step here.

Thanks for your willingness to answer my question though.
All the best

That’s totally wrong.
You should upload the entire project. Not only the content from the build folder. The build folder contains only the admin functionality & user-interface. But it should communicate with the backend. You should start the strapi on your production server.
Take a look at the deployment section.

What exactly is new to you? Nodejs servers? Nginx / apache? Deployment?