Data Disappears After Restart in Develop Mode on Cloud Run with CloudSQL Postgres

Hi,

I am new to Strapi and currently running it on Cloud Run with CloudSQL Postgres as the database.

I understand that there are develop and production modes in Strapi, and that in the production mode, operations such as adding collection types are not possible. However, in the develop mode, even though I can add collection types and entries, they disappear from CloudSQL once I restart the container.

Is this a feature of Strapi’s develop mode or could it be an issue with my setup? Could anyone guide me on how I could add data in a way that it persists even after a restart?

Here is the process I followed to set up:

1. I created a new Strapi application on my local machine using the command npx create-strapi-app@4.5.4 strapi --quickstart.
  2. I then modified the database configuration file at /config/database.js to connect to my CloudSQL Postgres v14 database.
  3. I built a Docker image from this setup.
    cloud builds submit --tag gcr.io/mygcpproject/strapi
  4. Lastly, I deployed this Docker image to Cloud Run.

Thank you for your help in advance!

1. In /config/database.js, what is the value of connection.client?
  2. In the /config folder, do you have separate folders for different environments?
  3. To confirm, what database is shown in the logs when the Strapi starts?
  4. Just to confirm when you say “restart,” you’re restarting the Google Cloud Run container only and it’s set up to connect to the existing PostgreSQL Database?
1 Like

Hi dallasclark
Thank you for your reply

here is the content of my /config/database.js. The value of connection.client = postgres.

module.exports = ({ env }) => ({
  connection: {
    client: "postgres",
    connection: {
      host: env("DATABASE_HOST"),
      port: env.int("DATABASE_PORT"),
      database: env("DATABASE_NAME"),
      user: env("DATABASE_USERNAME"),
      password: env("DATABASE_PASSWORD"),