Help with S3 storage and CDN

System Information
  • Strapi Version: 3.0.0-beta.17.5
  • Operating System: Windows 10
  • Database: PostgreSQL 13
  • Node Version: v14.16.1.
  • NPM Version: 6.14.12
  • Yarn Version: NA

Hello everyone, I am in need of some help. I have been asked to enable CDN for assets uploaded to Strapi. When the link to the asset is visited, they want the CDN link to be used instead. I am reading the documentation here: Upload - Strapi Developer Documentation and I have seen this package: strapi-provider-upload-aws-s3-plus-cdn - npm
but I am new to Strapi and could use some hand holding to get started. If anybody would be kind enough to help the new guy out I would really appreciate it. It is my 2nd day at my very first job as a web developer. Iā€™m starting to get major imposter syndrome trying to figure out where to start and all the things I will need to do to get this working. I am also new to Strapi so if anybody would be willing to explain it like Iā€™m a complete beginner, I am. I am testing locally on my Windows 10 machine but the server the client is using is nginx/1.15.6. Thanks again.

Hi @shwackd,

First of all donā€™t worry you are in the best place to find help :wink:

Did you set your CDN_URL in the configuration of the plugin youā€™re using ?

Here the configuration:

./config/plugins.js

module.exports = ({ env }) => ({
  // ...
  upload: {
    provider: 'aws-s3-plus-cdn',
    providerOptions: {
      accessKeyId: env('AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID'),
      secretAccessKey: env('AWS_ACCESS_SECRET'),
      region: env('AWS_REGION'),
      params: {
        Bucket: env('AWS_BUCKET'),
      },
      cdnUrl: env("CDN_URL"), // Optional CDN URL - include protofol and trailing forward slash, e.g. 'https://assets.example.com/'
    },
  },
  // ...
}); 

As said in the pluginā€™s note:

Strapi will use the configured S3 bucket for upload and delete operations, but writes the CDN url (if configured) into the database record.