How to update frontend when content in Strapi is changed?

System Information
  • Strapi Version: v4.1.7
  • Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04
  • Database: MySQL
  • Node Version: 16.15.0
  • NPM Version: 8.5.5
  • Yarn Version: 1.22.11

~ I am not the one that developed this website, I’m here only to make changes.
I have a content-type called page and I have to make edits on one specific page. There isn’t much to change, switch three columns with two columns. I manage to do all of that in my Strapi Admin, but I see no changes on my Next JS app. What do I need to do to change it? Is triggering webhook necessary?

I’m no Next expert, but doesn’t it require a build then deploy?

I’ve tried using npm run build with my local next app but still no changes. If I move around existing components I can see the changes but when I add a new component the changes aren’t reflected on the frontend part. Is there anything else that I need to do on strapi side?

I do get my new component in a response, and I can see it;s element but it keep being empty

This feels like a NextJs thing. It’s not pulling content on build for some reason. Or you’re seeing cached pages? I guess you’ve done Ctrl-F5 to refresh the page in browser right?

Yes, I have, but it still doesn’t show up

Maybe you can try using socket.io.
Join in the room and get notified when message emitted in the room.

Hi Moi, I have the same issue with Strapi and the changes on NextJS. Any comments about how to fix that?? I change the endpoint to this ‘…/api/books?populate=*’ but I cannot see any changes.

Cheers!

I found out that if I click on the button “Disable cache” on the tab “Network” once I open the inspect bar, data will be automatically refreshed from Strapi. I hope it works for your as well. I am using Chrome

Most likely your API fetches are being cached in NextJS.