[HowTo 🎓] Finally create proper lifecycle hooks for users(-permissions)

Hey, I’m new to strapi and saw that people have been struggling to have proper lifecycle hooks for the past ~1.5 years, which seemed to work in the past. I found one solution including database hooks but that didn’t allow me to access the ctx object which provides more detailed information about the request and response. In my use case, I need to log which user accessed / changed the information of another. And for that, ctx.state is handy, which is not available in the database hook :neutral_face:

So I’ve thought hacking around with this users-permissions plugin would be a good idea. I have little to none of a clue about strapi’s inner workings, but after some sherlock holmes level of investigations (actually just an hour or so) I thought I might have found what’s called a pro gamer move :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Just monkey-patch the **** out of this plugin to do what we require from it.

Bonus: You’re even getting lifecycle functions for the users-permissions specific /me api.

Here is how you do it:

1. create a file at src/extensions/users-permissions/content-types/user/lifecycles.ts with the following content:
export const beforeCreate = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterCreate = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeUpdate = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterUpdate = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeFind = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterFind = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeFindOne = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterFindOne = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeCount = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterCount = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeDestroy = async (ctx) => {};

export const afterDestroy = async (ctx) => {};

export const beforeMe = async (ctx) => {
  console.log("before !");
};

export const afterMe = async (ctx) => {
  console.log("after !");
};