Reducing Strapi Docker Image Size

Hey guys! I am fairly new to Docker and just managed to build my first few images with this Dockerfile:

FROM strapi/base

WORKDIR /src/app

COPY ./package.json ./
COPY ./yarn.lock ./

RUN yarn install

COPY . .

ENV NODE_ENV production

RUN yarn build

EXPOSE 1337

CMD ["yarn", "start"]

It works, however the image size is about 1.83GB big. I have read a bit about multistage docker builds and how they can drastically reduce the size. Unfortunately I am not sure how to set it up though.

I also tried to build the image with FROM: node:alpine but the file size was still 1GB and Strapi failed to run with yarn start due to a problem with the node sharp module.

Any advice for me to decrease the image size? Highly appreciate your help for a Docker newbie.

Try to add node_modules to docker ignore file.

Try to install build-essential after FROM: node
RUN apt-get install -y build-essential

Also, look at the docker file for node alpine to understand what other requirements you need to install.

Thanks for the super fast answer!

I had the node_modules folder in my .gitignore already.

Regarding the other two parts. Thanks for clarifying the sharp problem. The missing build-essential is probably what caused the problem.

Would it be possible for you to post an example Dockerfile :whale: of what you exactly mean? I looked at the base/alpine files but can’t wrap my head around yet how to setup the full Dockerfile now…

Not gitingore, Dockerignore.
You should add there all the unnecessary files. Like .tmp, .git, node_modules and others.

Also I would recommend to take a look at this article to see how you could reduce docker image size even more:

Sorry, I meant .dockerignore not .gitignore. I will take a look at your article, thanks!

1 Like