Strapi Automatic Scaling on Google App Engine

System Information
  • Strapi Version: 4.1.8
  • Operating System: OS X
  • Database: PostgreSQL
  • Node Version: 16.13.0
  • NPM Version: 8.1.0
  • Yarn Version: 1.22.17

Hi, everyone! I’m new to Strapi and Google App Engine. According to the app engine documentation, automatic scaling using min_idle_instances or min_instances elements is required to have a warmup request handler on the applications.

https://cloud.google.com/appengine/docs/standard/nodejs/configuring-warmup-requests

How to make a custom handler and route path to /_ah/warmup?
I’ve tried to make a custom plugin for this but turns out the custom plugin name must be in kebab case. Any other ideas? Thanks :smiley:

2 Likes

It’s solved for now, but I don’t think this is the best approach. What I’ve done is create a custom middleware to check the ctx.path

async (ctx, next) => {
    if (ctx.path !== '/_ah/warmup') return await next()

// Handle warmup logic here

ctx.status = 200;
    ctx.body = 'OK';
};
1 Like

@abimnyud Did you find an alternate option for this? And if not is this solution still working for you?

I have tried your solution but it isn’t working for me. I end up in a redirect loop where App Engine just issues a series of 302 redirects back to the same page over and over until the browser steps in and errors with “The page isn’t redirecting properly”.

I am running Strapi as a microservice in my multi-service GCP project, it isn’t the default service so the routing is via the -dot- notation e.g. https://cms-dot-.appspot.com/_ah/warmup. Is this similar to what you are doing or are you running on the default service?

In my search I also came across this but can’t make that work either.

Any tips/pointers?

For anyone else reading this in future. The code the OP posted above does work just don’t expect to be able to access /_ah/warmup from your browser to check to see if it works.