Strapi isn't just a CMS right? Is it not also a fully fledged backend web framework (like Django)?

Strapi advertises themselves as a CMS, but I feel it’s much more than that. It feels like a backend web framework like Django. We can create our own APIs with routes & controllers. This means we can create custom endpoint URLs, and custom logic to handle each request. We can query whatever data we need from our database too.

I’m not very experienced with backend, so I’m posting this here in case I’m missing something and someone can clarify why Strapi is mainly marketed as mostly a CMS rather than a backend web framework.

Thanks!

Django is a backend framework written in python.
Strapi is a backend framework written in Javascript.

Both are Backend frameworks, though the big difference here is that Django has more batteries included.
In django you can render views and pass data to the “frontend” if you like to call it.

If you use Django with DRF (Django Rest Framework) they are very similar indeed.

Django though it’s not a CMS it’s a framework. Strapi is more of a CMS kind of like Wordpress :slight_smile:

I do see the similarities but if you work with both they are way different.

Strapi takes shorter time to setup and work with, as a frontend developer, while Django can crunch more numbers etc, due to been python.

Thanks for the input! Now obviously JavaScript and Python are different, but I want to compare Strapi vs Django as a general framework instead. Django also has front end capabilities but I just want to compare their backend capabilities.