Warning: An error occurred while requesting the API

System Information
  • Latest:
  • Ubuntu 18 and 20:
    -SQlite:
  • tested on 16 and 17:
    -test with 6 and 8*:
  • no yarn:

I am completely new to Strapi… I just wanted to start playing around I was not able to make it running. When I go to admin page to create a new first admin a I got for a few seconds error message Warning: An error occurred while requesting the API

I can se a few recent post here with similar problem but no solution… Anybody have an idea ? Or how to troubleshoot… I use fresh ubutu created in AWS lightsail… if you want to replicate it. just spinup one and install node and run npx create and you will be there as well.

Thanks

OK a bit of update… The first problem is that I used unsupported version of node and npm but it did not fail while installing 4.0.3 but the installation failed with 4.0.0. So from my perspective 4.0.3 should also fail… But I am still not able to make it working even I install npm 6 and node 14. The installation fails with error but there are just warnings so I have not idea what the error is…

16 and 17 are both “unsupported”
16 is supported but I believe it’s still a bug and you need to use yarn to install.
14 should work with npm.

sorry npm 6 and node 14 tested failed with error that is unclear… tried to use yarn after an hour installing I gave it up.
I got that 16 and 17 is not supported 4.0.3 just install without any single complain… 4.0.0 at least fails with errors…

I already moved to directus… thanks anyway…
Installation of directus… first try and finished in few minutes. Only issue that you have to create db first :frowning: but I would say this is a minor… i burned day with strapi…

1 Like

No no I Understand that sorry to hear about the experience.
I came from the other direction so :slight_smile:
I used directus few years back and changed.
Thank you for the feedback though, I’m sure the team will take it on board.

I had the same issue.