What are different ways in which strapi can be deployed?

I am very new to strapi and backend. I was experimenting with strapi on local, then I purchase Postgres on Digital Ocean to make things production ready. But looks like I am confused on these aspects.

A full app made with Strapi as CMS will have separate components like:

1. Strapi
  2. Database
  3. Storage
  4. Front End

Strategy:

1. Can I deploy these four into separate clouds like Strapi on Digital Ocean, use Digital Ocean postgres for Database, AWS S3 for Storage, vercel for frontend?
  2. Deploy strapi, database, and storage on single Digital Ocean droplet and front end on vercel
  3. Deploy all 4 on single droplet?

What is the good way to do it? If there are multiple ways, what are the drawbacks of different stragies?

Hi AmitDigga,

I am pretty new as well.
Have you tried this resources?:

I also would suggest you to learn Docker, and deploy with that.
Right now I am learning the docker course from “code with mosh” (search it on goole, I can’t put more than two links here since I am a new user ) which is paid, but it is very good.

If you like Mosh courses, I would suggest to but a license, as it would be cheaper that buying just one course.

2 Likes

The benefits of Strapi is that it is very flexible of where and how you deploy. I typically just use Digital Ocean App platform.

1 Like

Hello,

yes, each strategy has its strengths and weaknesses, but personally, for production I would pick the first one. I’ll explain why.

By separating each part you make it easier to maintain and scale everything.

Strapi backend

Strapi itself needs to be hosted on a droplet (or maybe they have a Strapi app in their App Platform), there is not much you can do. If you need to scale, you will have a momentary downtime while you switch the droplets, but I think you should be able to use the same volume, so you’ll just change instance type and after restart you should be fine.

Database