Deploy Strapi on cPanel

Hi, I try to deploy my strapi project on cpanel. I use the “Setup Node.js App” software, but I can’t run “strapi develop”. I upload my files and everything work except the CONTENT-TYPE BUILDER because it needs to start the server with “strapi develop”. I tried to use the option “Run The Script” on cpanel but I wait 20 minutes now and nothing change. I am a beginner with strapi so I am not sure what is wrong

2 Likes

I have been struggling with setting up my Strapi project on Cpanel myself. Can’t even see the login or create user page.

2 Likes

Hey did you get any solution yet?

I find a semi-solution, use VSCode and connect ssh with it to webhost/cpanel then stop app(because conflict) run strapi (npm run develop[package.json script]) on localhost:port (ex:localhost:1337 on your webhost) use port forwarding and forward the port 1337 then you can open in your browser from localmachine
for more info : Connect over SSH with Visual Studio Code

deploy without Setup Node.js Deploy Node.js Apps To Shared Hosting - YouTube

1 Like

Cpanel on default creates a ‘app.js’ file on the directory root
if not create a js file and set it as application startup file

open that file and remove everything and replace with this:

const strapi = require('@strapi/strapi');

if (process.env.NODE_ENV == "development")
    strapi({"autoReload": { "enabled": true }}).start();
else
    strapi().start();

now if you set your application mode to development you will be able to use content-type builder [ cuz I added that condition in the script ] :wink:

now you can save and start the app and everything will work as expected. you can now create category while in development mode

2 Likes

perform a npm run build in your local environment. after that copy the build file to cpanel node app root directory.

your solution was amazing, thank you

1 Like